Goodbye 2014

Posted: December 31, 2014 in Current

Another year has come and passed.  It is the time where everyone make New Years resolutions and probably most won’t even stick to it, and to the ones that do make them and stick to them, you have my utmost respect.

The year 2014 was eventful.  It was one of the hardest years my family has experienced in a very long time. From my uncle losing his battle and passing away, to my sister and myself both losing our jobs, to me losing faith in people, hope and love.  But I have learned from this… I think, or should I say I hope.

This year exposed some weaknesses within me, that I thought I could control.  Trusting people too easily once again came to bite me, and even though I would like to say it won’t happen again, more than likely it will.  Falling in love with someone – where nothing could deter me. Loving someone unconditionally where I would do the unspeakable to ensure they are happy, sacrificing my own happiness to name a few. Do I regret what I have done?  It might be painful, but I do not regret it nonetheless.

I am not saying 2014 was all bad.  In all fairness, I did love people with my whole being.  The intense love is not a bad thing at all.  It is just a wonderful memory that scorched my inner core a little.  No pain no gain right?  2014 showed me what support really means.  Support I received without asking for it.  Unspoken, but needed like the first summer rains. Friendships that survived my worst times and flourish in my better times.  No time or distance taint these friendships and I am grateful for it.  A gift from God.

This year was filled with many disasters: planes going missing, shot down or crash, road accidents, murders and natural disasters.  And we have these blinds over our eyes on only seeing the sensationalised tragedies.  What we do not see are the people putting their life on the line searching for victims – a total stranger, trying to assist.  I have seen people, taking a leap of faith assisting a wild animal that can crush human bones without any effort, where people put their lives on the line to save an animal.

Please watch the link below and see what something you see as very insignificant, can mean the world to someone else…

On this last day of 2014, I would like to say thank you to all those strangers in the form of military, medical, fire brigades, or even the average Joe on the street, that put someone else as a priority above their own. To my family and friends, I want to thank you from the bottom of my heart for your love and support.

May 2015 bring each of you, the joys of life and of being alive.  May you cherish the times you have with each other and may faith, hope, love and forgiveness blossom on your future tree.

Leave a Reply

