When Dawn Turns Dusk…

Posted: June 10, 2014 in BloggingHoliX, Current
Tags: , , , ,

Camps Bay Sunset 1

The silence fades as day breaks and the rush of life starts all over again.. I am still curled up in bed, wishing I could live in my own little dream world. I hide my head under the covers trying to avoid the day ahead.

The sun rises and peeps through spaces between the curtains. Unwillingly, I open my eyes. The brightness forces me to squint my eyes to adjust. My body wants to turn around and continue my slumber. My mind on the other hand is drawn to this flaming red fireball. I stand up, drawing the curtains apart.

I witness the most beautiful sunrise. Darkness dashes behind objects as your presence rise from the dust in the distance. Nightfall fades into mere transparent shadows that bows to your presence. The cold and bitter dark night dissipates. Silhouettes metamorphose into vibrant, warm colours. Blurry shapes take form into beautiful pastures.

Flowers awaken and gardens burst into bloom. Birds chirping in celebration of your arrival. Little streams now have beautiful reflections of its surroundings. Suddenly, the dreams I fought to keep alive, is not relevant anymore. Reality feels surreal that I pinch myself to ensure I am not still dreaming.

I follow your movement and absorb the energy you radiate. I fall in love with the warmth. I cherish the aura. High up in the sky, I follow your gentle dance across the heavens – tracing your path like a never ending sentence. I do not want to miss a moment.

Then I realize your journey takes you to the other side of the horizon. I stretch out to the fullest and try to reach out to you, but you do not turn around. Maybe to you, I am a mere spec, but to me, you are life.

As I am about to fall into despair, I notice a big silver pearl in the skyline. Once again the darkness fails in your presence. Once again I find myself gazing at this miraculous being. Once again, do I find myself not missing a moment – just watching your parade of the diamond filled skies. Never in my life did I think that I will change my view of a murky night to be a Black & White portraiture of beauty. As you slowly pass through, I focus my eyes to where the star arose the day before. The dawning light excites me, awaiting another day of amazement.

However, clouds rolled in from all sides. It covers you completely. I am aware of your existence, even though the misty barrier prevents to experience your warmth. The whole day I pray, but to no avail. These barriers are not moving.

I returned to my dwelling… shattered and in disbelieve. How can time fly by so fast? All I have left is this candle cradled in my hands. The only memory I have of what is above. I cannot recreate you. I cannot mimic your powers. I cannot pretend not to miss those moments. How quick I realize the cold and bitter darkness of where I find myself. Hope faded like the shadows at your feet. Now, darkness grows in intensity every passing moment.

The dreamlike reality you created seems like lifetimes ago. Dreams are merely a replay of the sunrises and the sunsets, the moonlit landscapes and the life you brought.

I hope. I wish once upon a star. I replay the memories. Alas,it is not the same. Hopefully one day I will see you again and may you shine on me again before my faith perishes.

 

Comments
  1. oraclesblog says:

    lewe in die afterglow, van die mooi herrineringe xx

    Like

  2. oraclesblog says:

    Daar is nog hoop, ek ken jou nou al jare. Moet jou hart nie toesluit nie, hou dit oop, geluk sal daar wees. Jy’s ‘n amazing lantern in my lewe.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

