Our Lantern’s Afterglow

Posted: December 8, 2012 in Current
Tags:

This is a totally different post than any of the others I posted in the past. Today, I break the promise to myself again by putting a name to a post, and I have co-authors.  Today, myself and many others had a great loss with the news of a dear friend that passed away in the early hours of the morning…

This morning, as the sun awakened the earth, a dear friend of mine awakened to a new beginning.  Our paths went the separate ways, but her presence is felt through conversations and emotions, and this is where I find myself…  What do you put in words to describe someone?  So I asked people to tell me what the biggest thing is that they will remember of her.  Below, the words of two mutual friends we shared…

Dael Erasmus Bedford said…

A dear friend was taken from us today, without us having the chance to say Goodbye! I’m sure Trudie wouldn’t have it any other way, she is now looking down on us with a smile and I do believe a tear, cos she is going to miss us too. Soon we will have the privilege of meeting again and sharing the laughs and chats we always did.
Trudie was a friend who always saw the positive in life, despite all the curveballs life threw at her, she stood with her head up high and took it in her stride, slaying the dragons as they came. In the years I knew her, not once did I ever hear a complaint – more interested in the wellbeing of her friends that she treasured in her heart. Moments when we were sad, she would always be there to try and talk things through with you and try to cheer the darkest moments to make them brighter. Speaking to her on the phone, I remember her laugh, a laugh she was blessed with, it had a somewhat contagious effect which would brighten every moment with her. Trudie, words are few right now, but thats human my friend – such an inspiration and loved by many. Her positive light will continue to shine in our hearts forever. I wish I had the opportunity to hold a lantern of light on her way forward as she did with me.

Here is something from Trudie to us today:

My dear friend,
close your eyes…
hold my hand,
and hear me whisper…

For the times I was lost,
you were there to look for me.
Will you believe me when I say I love you more than you’ll ever know.
Will you trust me when I say …this time you have to let me go.

My dear friend, I must leave.
The world no longer needs me.
It’s my time to be gone, until we meet again someday.
Don’t you cry now, I know I’ll be okay.
Trust that I’ll never forget you.
Don’t be sad now, just close your eyes until it’s through.
Hold my hand, don’t open your eyes yet…
wait when I no longer whisper..

My dear friend, you’ll be fine.
I’ll be up there watching over you.
For the times I’ll be gone, don’t ever forget
the words I whispered to you.

God calls on my name… and I have to let go of your hand now…
Please don’t cry… and smile for me..
because I’m with the one who made us friends.

Remember, I’ll always love you.
so come, wave me goodbye…
It’ll be painful but we have to…
Hug me, hug me tight, feel the words I can no longer say.

My dear friend, I’m going to miss you.
just pray because I’ll always listen.
and one day, when it’s your time,
I’ll be there for you…
Just like the way I used to.
…I love you…

Source: When A Friend Bids Goodbye, Death of a Friend Poem http://www.familyfriendpoems.com/poem/when-a-friend-bids-goodbye#ixzz2ESA3EBA9
www.FamilyFriendPoems.com

Colleen Matthews wrote…

Goodbye Trudie,

I know you are watching me from heaven

It’s so sad that you are not anymore

But those beautiful chats that we had

Will be in my heart forever

When I close my eyes

the only face I see is yours

with that giggle which I liked the most

The day I heard

The news of your sad death

Was the worst day of my life

Tears roll down my cheeks

And my tongue can taste how salty it is

May your soul Rest in Peace

You are twinkling like a star in the sky

And the most beautiful Angel by far

Trudie was a special kind of person, she always had everyone else’s needs before hers.

She has earned her golden wings more then once on earth, I am sure they are beautiful!

If there was anyone who could make a decent lemonade from life’s lemon’s – it was

Trudie !!

Truds, I’m going to miss you each and every day – Thank You for being just the person

you were, never complaining about how difficult life must have been for you – you are

my inspiration, I will never forget you – may you Rest In Peace

Coleen Matthews

As I read these pieces, I realize what an impact she had on the people that met her.  I met Trudie (Aphrael as she was known on IRC) during a visit in PE a few years ago, and even though we did not communicate on a daily basis, I always knew she had a shoulder I could lean on.

Trudie truly was an amazing person.  Life threw her curveballs that some of us might never experience in our lifetimes, yet…  Trudie had the ability to see beyond this.  She was a courageous woman that always saw the silver lining.  Her positive attitude had no bounds.  Her laughter that we all loved so much, originated from her inner core.  Trudie had a great eye for photos, and Trudie’s blog indicated that she was an artistic writer too.  Her talents stretched over multiple platforms. You always sparked excitement and fun out of moment – online or in person.

Trudie had a heart of gold and as small as she was, she made it up with her kind and caring heart – her love for her fellow man and pets were endless.  You need someone to listen to you, Trudie was there; you need a friend to wipe the tears off your cheek, Trudie was there. She might have been confined to her wheelchair, but her influence had no limits.

We were blessed to have had the opportunity to know a lady that was compassionate, dedicated and a kind soul.  We could say goodbye, but maybe we shouldn’t.  Trudie became part of us.  Let her legacy live through us.  Let her positive attitude be our guide… let us look and concentrate on that silver lining; let her love she shared with us be our vessel in our journey.  Let us celebrate her life in memory.

Trudie, my dear friend, I say to you… You were a great friend and great inspiration.  I know that you can sense our feelings and despair.  I think you know we already miss you.  But I know, my friend that you are the star you were destined to be.  Shine bright like you always did.  When we look into the skies, we will have millions of memories and reasons to celebrate our time with you.  You had a beautiful and powerful energy about you; and as the scientists will say… Energy cannot be destroyed, but it can be transferred.  Our thoughts and memories of you will never be destroyed either.

You are not confined to your wheelchair anymore, but to our hearts.  We love you dear friend – always have and always will…

Till we meet again…

Trudie ‘Aphrael’ Arndt

6 October 1978 – 8 December 2012

Leave a Reply

