Serenade to my Friends

Posted: April 25, 2012 in Current
Tags: , , , ,

What makes a friendship? Do circumstances shape a friendship? Is it the similarities in personalities? Friendships can be used and abused – especially when it is seen as an impersonal business transaction where you just a statistic on a debtors book and they see you as an account number; or it can be seen as a miracle.

I will not whisper a lullaby in your ear, but scream it from the top of my lungs from echoing mountain tops. I dance with joy because of you. A smile constantly covers my face with joy. My memories are as sweet as honey and as precious to me like water in a desert.

In your journey through life, you will meet many people that you label as friends, but during the later parts of life, you realise how little of them are true friends – that keep the balance. There are people that drain all your energy like a sponge, leaving you dry and depleted. They only know you, when they need or want something. The imbalance is not healthy and you suffer the consequences – all by yourself. The loneliest feeling is when you give 150% of yourself and commit to something you thought to be defined as a true friendship, and not receive anything out of that friendship. That is where you are alone – where even your hopes and dreams were shattered and survival feels impossible.

I believe a true friendship is much greater than that! I believe that friendship is a type of energy. Friendship is a deeper connection. Friendships are a willing experience shared by people. Friendships invoke emotions and inspirations. I will even go so far to say that friendships can be defined as a feeling! Each person involved in a friendship should complement each other like the seasons, or tides or day and night. Friends should work hand in hand like the functions of a tree, certain times of the day it photosynthesize and other times a healthy intake of oxygen around it – a balanced give and take principle.

I have a selected few people in my life that I define as the biggest blessing in my life; true friendships where I can count on them no matter what time of day. I can trust these people with my life. This is where quality outweighs quantity. Sometimes these friends and I have not seen each other in a while, but they are always present in my heart. They fill my dreams and my good memories. They lift my spirit! I am who I am because of them!

Some of these friendships have helped me grow and helped me to see the better things in life. Inspiration to write started with friendships. “Love can conquer all” and your true friends are you armies. Your trust in them is your ammunition.

As I have mentioned before, friendships are about a healthy balance about giving and taking.

Friendships don’t hold you back, but they carry you forward. A friend appreciates you for who you are and they will guide you and stand by you. Lies and deceit is not part of the relationship. Love and trust is the building blocks. Appreciation is the shelter of any friendship.

When last did any of us phone a friend to say thank you… not SMS or BBM or Facebook message, but actually picking up a phone just to say “Thank You”. Have a humble heart and see the blessings in your life.

Earlier tonight, a friend told me not to be afraid to love as it is free, peaceful, kind and fulfilling. She said that sometimes you experience fear because you think it is too good to be true. Truer words she could not speak. Friendship is unconditional love. It is having that someone that you can share your life with – no matter what!

I have almost lost some of the best friendships I could wish for, because of my self-absorbed attitude and fear to allow people close to me. I do not want to lose these selected few, as the mean the world to me.

These three words carry all the energy my body have: I love you! Thank you for your support, your guidance and the memories.

Comments
  1. Warl0c says:

    As usual, said perfectly and with such feeling, dont ever change who you are. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

