A Friend

Posted: January 1, 2006 in Prior to 2006
Tags:

A few minutes ago I got a SMS from the best friend I could ever ask for.  She is a great lady.  I have learned so much from her.  But tonight my heart goes out to her.  I do not feel sorry for her as I think she might find it offensive towards her.  It is however, not meant in that sense.  This lady is in my thoughts and prayers.  Why?  Well, the SMS she sent was to inform me that she must book into hospital for an operation.

She is scared, and so am I!  I really am.  Seems like everyone around me has some form of cancer…. Lydia, Justin, Oom Fritz, Oom At and now possibly her too!  It is brewing all these questions inside me and I know it is wrong… but it is stirring!  When will I explode?

I love her so much (not the relationship-intimate kind of way).  She is the best friend anyone could ever ask for.  Why I was blessed to know her, I don’t know.

I almost lost her a few times in the past… not by death but by my stupidity and the lack of skills involving friends and communication.  I can’t afford to lose her.  She means so much to me.  How can I be supportive if I am not even strong enough to handle the news myself?

I have this picture of her in my mind.  The most beautiful smile.  A smile that can stop a war; kill time in an instance.  A smile I’ll never forget.  May God carry her.

A few days passed since I have touched this document.  Today I went to see my friend in the hospital.  When I got there, I got to see her lying in ICU.  That really made me restless.  Why is she in ICU?  I am so scared!  I wish I just could hold her hand, just to make sure she knows I am there for her.  I don’t want to lose her friendship.!

Well, I went to see my friend today again.  She is not in ICU anymore!!!This is such a great relief! She is just in general ward now!  I was nervous as hell, but I wanted to see her!  At least this time she saw that I came to see her.  She looked uncomfortable and sore.  I wish I could take away some of the pain she is experiencing.

Leave a Reply

